Home > Weight Lifting > Fed Up WIth Weight Loss Gimmicks!

Fed Up WIth Weight Loss Gimmicks!

I made a terrible mistake this morning – I let myself get critically annoyed with the people blasting out tweets advertising the latest gimmicks and producs for weight loss. One guy broadcast about how he lost 60 pounds in 6 weeks with such and such a product (even if I remembered the name I wouldn’t repost it out of a sense of civic duty). I tweeted right back that I lost 60 pounds over 6 months by eating less crap and exercising (push ups, sit ups, and walking / jogging). I couldn’t stop myself, but it opened up a proverbial can of worms.

Next time I glanced at my computer (thirty minutes, maybe?), I saw two people were congratulating me and two other people were offering more supplements and diet aids for me. I sent the first two some appreciative responses and let them know I was just replying, in a pissy way, to the boneheads trying to screw people over. To said boneheads I responded in a less than appreciative manner.

Now then, with all that said and done I felt obligated to take it a step further. I’m going to tell you the long lost secret to weight loss. It’s not a new product, nor is it some secret genetic code scientists have finally cracked. The long last secret of the ancients is this: STOP PUTTING SHIT IN YOUR MOUTH! Yes, that’s it. Stop eating crap. Donuts, deep fried garbage, burgers dripping fat, deserts drizzled in chocolate, the list goes on and on.

Step number 2: MOVE YOUR ASS! There’s no need to go crazy in the gym like I do. Hell, you don’t even need to go to a gym. I lost 60 pounds in 6 months by doing push ups and sit ups every morning, as well as walking and eventually jogging. No gym, just me and the floor. I couldn’t do 1 set of 10 push ups when I started too! Six months later I was at sets of 50. Nine months in I was at 5 sets of 50. Yeah, I was beyond weight loss at that point and working on getting bigger and stronger, but if I can do it, so can just about anybody else.

That’s it. Two steps. Eat less and move. Think it’s hard to do? You’re right, it is. Think you can handle it? Then you’re right, it is. For anybody who can figure that out the world is in your hands. The only suggestion I might offer is that when you do get hungry either A> drink a glass of water or B> get up and move. Replace the hunger to eat with a hunger to move.

Of course this is very high level but it will work. To streamline weight loss and get more out of it, check past blog posts I’ve made under the category of “weightlifting”. Yeah, most of them involve picking things up but there are a few scattered abou that explain the benefits of eating the right kind of food and at what times. It’s very important to understand one thing though – none of this should cost you a damn thing. To make one thing into two – I don’t want anything from you for it. Everybody has the right to have the body that they want to have, but the problem is all the media hoopla, supplement industry spam, and people trying to make a buck with bullshit gimmicks like the HCG diet and others that make us forget how simple it really is.

And regarding a magic pill to make the fat melt away? Not happening. Or at least it’s not happening without a prescription or the right contacts to get you into some black market chemical supplements. And no, I’m NOT going to write up a future blog post telling you how to do that or what specific stuff to take. If you want to go there I say good luck. In my opinion it’s your body and you’re right to put whatever into it you want to, so long as you’re not hurting anyone else by doing so. I’m just not going to empower anyone to do anything that they might not do responsibly or safely.

 

anti-fast-food-hamburger

Categories: Weight Lifting
  1. August 3, 2011 at 14:31

    “Eat less and exercise more”. I dunno. Sounds complicated. LOL!

    I’m a food fanatic. I eat anything and everything and often, and I refuse to give that up. But I lost 25 pounds by, gee, eating smaller portions and working out more. Took me 4 years to do it, so I don’t have bragging rights, but at least it’s gone, and it’ll stay gone. I think people get hung up on the whole “in 6 weeks” thing, and then get discouraged when it doesn’t turn out to be realistic.

    Keep preaching. Maybe people will catch on.

    • August 3, 2011 at 20:55

      I doubt it – it’s not a magic pill people want to believe in. I spend months at a time alternating my body composition each year. Thus far my peak in the past five years was about 8 – 10 weeks ago at 241.5 pounds – brought about intentionally with a healthy bulking diet and lots of maximal weight lifting for strength gain and muscle growth. Since then I’ve been cutting out carbs and calories and dieted down to 217 at roughly 8% – 9% bodyfat (nice ab-shadows), as well as lighter weight and higher rep exercising.

      Starting in September I’ll start bulking back up and trying to add as little fat as possible for a powerlifting meet at the end of October. Changing body composition is actually pretty easy, it just requires a combination of basic dietary knowledge and the necessary desire to use the gym the way it was meant to be used.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,688 other followers

