Home > Writing > Artistic License

Artistic License

I’m partially color blind and completely style / fashion blind. I think less is more when it comes to skirts, dresses, and plunging necklines. Clearly, I have the taste of a neanderthal with the lack of common sense to back it up (after all, I just admitted this!).

So why bring attention to my failings? It’s not part of a 37 step plan to better myself (trust me, I’ve been climbing those steps for as long as I can remember). No, it’s because I did the impossible between last night and today – I designed some cover art for myself! Oh sure, I tapped my wife for some creative and color assistance, but much less than anyone who knows me would expect, including myself. I had a vision and it just took me being stubborn and forcing it to happen. I might suggest that tactic could be used more in life, but I somehow doubt it’s long term effectiveness in romantic situations.

Anyhow, the cover is for a series of shorter books I’ll be releasing under the series title, “Vitalis”. The initial release will be a novella in the 30k word range and the later ones will be between 10k and 20k (I’m predicting – so far I’ve only written two parts for it). It’s science fiction all the way and involves finding a new planet filled with life so vibrant it more or less acts like a fountain of youth for humans who live there. Unfortunately it’s a bit of a hostile planet, in spite of the lack of intelligent indigenous life. I can’t say much more or I’d be giving it away! I’ll have blurbs to follow very soon though. I hope to get the first one out there sometime in September (capitalizing, perhaps, on the excitement generated by the pending release of Ice Princess).

Until then, here’s the cover image!

Book 1 of the Vitalis series, by Jason Halstead

Book 1 of the Vitalis series, by Jason Halstead

Categories: Writing
  1. August 16, 2011 at 14:44

    Dude, I love the cover page. I could tell right away it was a science fiction which drew me in. I also love the concept of your novel series. I would love to read it once it’s done.

    Gods speed my friend.

    • August 16, 2011 at 14:48

      You, Sir, have earned a hug. Purely platonic and manly, I assure you. Okay, maybe a knuckle bump just to be safe… anyhow, thanks!

      -Jason

  2. August 16, 2011 at 16:14

    That sounds really interesting – good science fiction is so hard to find. I can’t wait to have you as a guest book blogger on Pagan Spirits.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,677 other followers

