Home > Writing > Reader / Writer Appreciation

Reader / Writer Appreciation

A couple of peculiar things happened to me recently. In the first I was contacted by someone who told me they bought not one of my books, but four of them! Okay, I’d love to say that’s not out of the ordinary at all, and someday I hope to. Even if that happens it’s not the point of the blog. Not only did this individual tell me that, but they went on to admit putting aside another book they’d written to try mine out (Wanted), and were sucked into it and loving it. Sleep, when it finally came, was considered an enemy to their desire to read.

Peculiar item 2 was when another individual contacted me to say they were halfway through my book and loving it more and more with each page (Wanted, again). I thanked them and shared that the sequel to Wanted will be out soon. They, in turn, were thankful for the head’s up. Thankfulness is a neat thing, but that’s not the moral to the story.

The thing that strikes me as odd is that these readers are contacting and sharing this with me in the first place, then in some instances act surprised when I respond to them. The feedback is great – it’s what keeps me and the other writer’s I know going. It’s reviewing, rating, and sharing with us that we know whether we’re doing a good job or not and also how we can improve. Technically a sale is feedback as well, and it helps put food on the table, but all a sale tells us is that we managed a successful sales pitch, not that the finished product was well done.

I can’t imagine a day, regardless of future success, were I can’t take the time to respond to somebody who goes out of their way to share with me. After all, if a person can work time in their busy schedule to send something to me, why shouldn’t I take the same time to do the same? So too all my readers, past, present, and future – I thank you and appreciate the time you take reading and enjoying my work!

Speaking of future success, I read an article recently where a writer considered himself mid-list and made a living at it. He indicated he had roughly 100 titles available. If that’s what it takes, then that’s what I’ll do. So far I’ve got 9 out with a 10th and 11th pending. Behind them I’ve got releases scheduled up through February of 2012 on a monthly basis. That takes me to 16. A bit shy of a 100 but I’ve got a lot of words left in me, not to mention a roadmap for several more Voidhawk and Dark Earth books!

Oh, and as much as I hate to admit it, I may even jump on the bandwagon and include some occasional vampire related stuff into one of my existing or future universes. They will not be sparkly and emo though, that I promise you!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,727 other followers

