Home > Writing > It IS a Happy New Year

It IS a Happy New Year

Earlier this week I got an email from a reader that told me she’d gotten a Kindle Fire for Christmas. She grabbed one of my books (Dark Earth), and was hooked. Then she grabbed Wanted and the hook sunk in even deeper. She came up for air long enough to send me an email letting me know how much she was enjoying them and that, for me, was worth its weight in gold.

Sadly my sales have been slumping lately. I blame it on the holidays and people being busy with decompressing from the holiday stress (or recovering from New Year’s Eve). Or at least that’s what I’m hoping the slump is from. In spite of that, getting that one single email perked me up and helped remind me there’s more to this than me getting excited about the stories I’m telling and selling books. It’s also about touching people and entertaining them. Maybe even helping them a little. The reader I mentioned could certainly use a little escapism in her life, from what she told me, and I’m honored to have been picked to provide it for her.

She’s not the only one, just the most recent. I’ve had other people email me to let me know what they thought. So far the thoughts have always blown my socks off in a good way, so I encourage the world to keep ‘em coming! I’m not much for shopping but for this cause I’m happy to go and find new socks. Heck, that’s why the first books in three of my series are free – so people can enjoy them without any strings. Just a chance to prove that there really is a free lunch. Of course I’m hoping those readers will then buy other books I’ve written. Even if they don’t, knowing it helped them find some stress relief, escapism, come up with a new angle on a problem, or just kept them entertained is a great feeling for me.

So my friends, feel free to check out Wanted, Voidhawk, and Dark Earth on you Kindle or Kindle Reader for the PC / Mac. They’re free on Amazon, just click on the links provided. And let me say thank you to each and every one, even those who write the nasty things on reviews – you all help to make me a better writer and a better person.

To learn more about Jason Halstead, visit his website to learn about him, his books, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

  1. sirkeystone
    January 4, 2012 at 21:22

    Finally finished Wanted myself! Loved it, and I will be back for sequels when I get the extra nickels together.

    Keep them coming, Jason!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,749 other followers

