Home > Writing > KDP Select and Human Nature

KDP Select and Human Nature

Those who know me will groan and realize they expected nothing less at my choice of titles and words. Those who don’t know me will groan anyhow (for the same reason). The Human Nature I’m referring to has nothing to do with our personalities and quirks. This Human Nature is a science fiction book I wrote a while back, but aside from some great reviews it’s never really taken off. Enter KDP Select and Amazon Prime…

I’ve got a blog post coming out in a couple of days about a new release that’s coming out this week (so stay tuned!). This particular experiment took place last week. Using the KDP Select promotions manager I keyed up Human Nature to run free for two days late last week (Friday and Saturday, I believe). I ‘sold’ a couple hundred copies of it. Since then it’s been selling at the regular price at a much improved rate and moving up the charts. At this early stage, it looks like a successful experiment.

There’s a downside though. That being the exclusivity Amazon requires in order to enroll in the KDP Select program. Just this morning I had an email from a reader in Australia who was looking for my books but was unable to get them because of her location and the fact that she doesn’t have a Kindle. I’m trying to help her figure out a way to do so, even if it means using the Kindle App for the PC and reading it on her computer. I’m not sure if Amazon is able to sell books in Australia. Shame on me for my ignorance, but I’m using this situation to eliminate that problem. In the meantime let me point out to my fellow writers that are considering KDP Select that it can be a double edged sword.

And for anyone who’s curious about the stand-alone novel, Human Nature, here’s the cover you click on to go check it out!

Human Nature, sci fi / romance by Jason Halstead

Human Nature, sci-fi / romance by Jason Halstead

Human Nature on Amazon

Human Nature on Amazon UK

To learn more about Jason Halstead, visit his website to learn about him, his books, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

  1. January 17, 2012 at 10:40

    Hi there- I had a reader who did buy my book for Kindle from Amazon.com and she’s in Australia. Hope that helps.

    • January 17, 2012 at 11:00

      Jenn,

      It does! That’s great news, Thanks!

      -Jason

  2. January 17, 2012 at 11:18

    That’s interesting. I am in the process of making my first short story free on KDP Select, but first I have to check on getting it off of other sites.
    I thought there were boxes to check when listing your books in Amazon so they’re available through the various Amazon stores? Could it possibly be that easy? Probably not.

    • January 17, 2012 at 11:21

      Yes and no. Amazon doesn’t have a dedicated presence everywhere. So far they have Amazon sites for the US, UK, Germany, Italy, Spain, and France. They’re also bringing one up for Brazil in the near future. Outside of that I don’t have any idea where Amazon is targeting. I’d think Australia would be a big one though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,727 other followers

