Home > Interviews > The Talk – Every Parent’s Worst Fear?

The Talk – Every Parent’s Worst Fear?

What follows is an official write-up on a very entertaining story my friend, fellow writer, and publishing partner J.E. Taylor shared with me recently. Officially this is a stop on her blog tour to promote her new book, Crystal Illusions (a Steve Williams novel). Unofficially, it’s highlights a downright amusing story about that awkward moment in every parent’s life when their son or daughter asks that question…

Earlier in the tour, I spoke about my son and his interest in scary movies.  Well, he’s surprised me again.  Remember as you read on that my boy is only twelve.  Well, we seem to have the damnedest conversations on our way to his Jukido class – for those that don’t know what Jukido is – it’s a form of martial arts that’s derived from Jujitsu.

Now, he knows that along with my thrillers, I also write things he is forbidden to read until he’s at least eighteen because they include some extremely explicit sex scenes.  Well maybe this is the reason he asks questions but I was not fully prepared for having THE TALK just yet. But as you well know, life doesn’t always wait until you’re prepared.

Anyhow, he said something akin to me being a virgin – and, um, no, I didn’t immaculately conceive my kids.  J  I couldn’t help but laugh at the comment and inform him that no, honey – I’m not a virgin. Then it occurred to me, perhaps he didn’t understand exactly what a Virgin was.  So I asked and he told me what he thought. His explanation was a hoot and a half and I really couldn’t help but laugh no matter how hard I tried.  When I got a hold of the giggles, I explained a virgin is someone who hasn’t had sex. Obviously I don’t fall into that category – after all, I got pregnant and had both he and his sister.

Then the question comes – you mean you can get pregnant from kissing?

Perhaps I should have said yes and left it there – then it would be a few years before the reality of what sex is would come to light  – but then again, he asked a logical question for a twelve year old and deserved a truthful answer of sorts.  However, trying to explain sex to a twelve year old was like dancing on hot coals – awkward and a little painful – but finally we arrived at the analogy of puzzle pieces and when those particular puzzle pieces are put together – that could end producing a baby. I then went on to say he wasn’t to put his puzzle piece anywhere that it didn’t belong until he was out of school and old enough to take responsibility for a child.

I’m sure the conversation was even more painful for him, but honestly, I’m glad this is something we can discuss – albeit on an awkward basis, but at least he’s not afraid to ask questions.

Still.  It really brings home the fact that my boy is growing up faster than I’m truly prepared for.

So, those of you with children – Is this anywhere near the realm of how your TALK went?  And for those not yet in the market for having kids, do you remember having THE TALK with your folks?

Thanks for swinging into this stop on my Blog Tour and I hope you’ll swing in to Bitten By Books on the 20th for a chance to win a $50.00 Amazon gift certificate and if you’d like to check out Crystal Illusions, you can purchase it here on Amazon.

Crystal Illusions

Assistant D.A. Carolyn Hastings has an uncanny knack for putting away criminals. With one of the best prosecution records in recent history, her future as Manhattan’s next District Attorney looks certain. But her sixth sense for winning cases threatens to work against her when she starts seeing a string of murders through the eyes of the killer.

With suspects piling up as fast as bodies, and the motives of those closest to her questionable, Carolyn doesn’t know who to trust. When the FBI assigns Special Agent Steve Williams to the case, Carolyn discloses her deepest fear – that the man she loves may be the one responsible for the city’s latest crime spree.

The only thing Steve knows for sure is Carolyn has an inexplicable psychic connection with the killer, and all the victims have one thing in common…a striking resemblance to Carolyn Hastings.

And he knows it’s only a matter of time before this psychopath knocks on her door.

Taylor has a strong thriller where every single character has reasonable doubt flashing like a neon sign hanging over them, and right from the beginning you are trying to guess who the killer really is. Gripping, rich and magnificent – crime whodunnits don’t get any better than this!Author Poppet / Gemma Rice – Author of Quislings, Blindsided, Djinn and Dusan

Amazon Link: http://www.amazon.com/Crystal-Illusions-Steve-Williams-ebook/dp/B007JBWCIQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1331505187&sr=8-1

Until next time,

Ciao.

JET

  1. April 14, 2012 at 06:24

    My boys were 11 and 12 when we had ‘the talk’ which was exactly the talk that my mother had with me at the same age. It involved reading the book ‘Where Did I Come From’ by Peter Mayle and then answering questions. One thing I made sure to tell them was that if they had questions, they were to ask me or their stepfather, and I explained to them that there was a lot of misinformation out there. Then we had a major condom talk a few years later and according to my husband (I wasn’t invited to this party) he and the boys had cucumber/condom practice at 16. (My first thought-cucumbers? they wish) If your son is now twelve, just so you know, that may have been an awkward conversation, but the questions now get harder. :)

  2. April 14, 2012 at 11:37

    Thanks for the info Kelly – my husband already pulled my son aside and told him far more information than the boy wanted to know because I didn’t give him the “full” picture. :) So Dad took over the conversation. I’m happily out of it now.

  3. April 15, 2012 at 01:05

    Wow. That sounds like fun. I think (hope) we have a few years as my son is now ten. He’s mentioned a few things that he’s picked in conversations at school, but so far we’ve been able to defuse that bomb. I’ve heard the stories and I’m not looking forward to it. Thanks for sharing your story. :D

  4. April 15, 2012 at 12:04

    Debra – my son had a ‘girlfriend’ for 4 years – they broke up just before Christmas this year – yes – he’s been ‘dating’ in the way grade school kids date since he was 8. This is the kid that even as a baby – when we were at the beach and a pretty girl walked by – he’d stop what he was doing and watch. If we don’t set expectations with this one – I think we may have issues as the harmones hit. My daughter was so much easier – she hasn’t really dated for any length of time because in her world – it’s not a priority and she wants to do too many things to get bogged down with a clingy boyfriend. :)

  5. April 15, 2012 at 23:08

    I never had “the talk” with my mom. She was way too flustered for that. So much so that when my sister was 12, my mother handed her off to me for “the talk.” I had a clever way to explain it to her that made plenty of sense. I’d just had my son and we were still living at home. I held the infant up and said, “See this?” She nodded. I then said, “:You know how he’s up all night crying?” She nodded again. I smiled and said, “If you don’t want one of these, stay a virgin as long as possible!” I think it might’ve worked. My baby sister is thirty and still childless!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,781 other followers

