Home > Uncategorized > New Stuff

New Stuff

The “stuff” I elude to is both a new blog post (yay me for remember to post) and a new book or two. Well, sort of. Human Nature is a science fiction book set in a near future Earth. Very near future, in fact. Heck, by the time you read this it might even be near past. Anyhow, the point is that it takes place in the American midwest amidst a world devastated by warfare and oppression. What? Near future America? Yeah, well here’s the skinny on it…

Many years ago that ridiculously successful Will Smith took place in a movie that was similarly ridiculously successful. No, that’s probably not a coincidence. Anyhow, the movie was called Independence Day, and it involved aliens showing up out of the blue and laying waste to the Earth’s major cities. Their intent was to eliminate the population then strip mine our entire world for natural resources before moving on. But, as is our way, humans found a way to kick their ass.

I always wondered two things, A> What if humans were the aggressors taking on other worlds? Well, I wrote a book about it. It’s not very good though, so it’s sitting on a hard drive somewhere probably never to see the light of day. And B> What if the aliens couldn’t be stopped?

Human Nature is based on premise B. The aliens aren’t after the natural resources of the Earth though, they’re after something else. Enter into that my main character, an unlikely nobody named Dawn Vincent. Dawn was a nurse practitioner working in an obstetrics ward before the aliens showed up. After, well, she was like everyone else: running and praying that she’d survive one more day. The only thing more important to her than her own life was the life of her fiance – until he stepped foot in a building full of aliens.

Lost physically, mentally, and emotionally, Dawn manages to hook up with a group of survivors trying to stake out a means of survival for themselves. Survival from the aliens and survival from other humans who are just as interested in being left alone and being able to survive. Thrust into the role of a combat medic the tale officially begins…

Check it out at www.smashwords.com if you’re interested. I’ve even set a very low introductory price of $1.99 for the novel. Later this year it should be released on http://www.excessica.com. I’m jumping the gun because I own the rights to it and it’s ready to rock.

The other book? No, not the abandoned one, but another one I put up on www.smashwords.com is called Voidhawk – The Elder Race. It’s a sequel to my original Voidhawk fantasy epic. It’s far from the end of the tale for the Voidhawk and crew, I’m already at work on book 3, in fact, amongst many other projects. Voidhawk – The Elder Race has been published on www.fidopublishing.com. Print versions of the book are available at https://www.createspace.com/3450132.

Phew, lots of self-promotion and not much for sales. Clearly I don’t know what I’m doing yet but I’m struggling to learn and to try! Someday soon, I hope, I’ll even go so far as to put some money in the hands of a  marketing / publishing firm to help promote my books.

Oh, and if anybody is interested in helping a brother out by doing a review or two, let me know – I’ll do what I can to return the favor in some way, shape, or form!

Thanks for reading,

Jason Halstead

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

