Home > Uncategorized > Here vs There

Here vs There

The benefit of being here is that I’m always there, no matter where here is. Deep, I know.

On the matter of living in Ohio versus living in Moab, Utah, I had some thoughts a little bit ago. My wife brought the topic up first, but it made me think on what I’d be doing if I still loved in Utah. I had no good answer for it, but I did realize I would not have been shoveling snow out of my three car wide driveway. It’s not like living in the snow belt off of Lake Michigan was when we lived near Kalamazoo, but we’re still catching lake effect snow from lake Erie here in eastern Ohio.

Good exercise and it’s light fluffy snow, so why bitch about it? Heck, temps in the teens without any noticeable wind chill even made sure I didn’t overheat. The problem was the sore back I’ve been milking for a week or so. Something went awry while squatting at the gym a few weeks ago, but I seem to have mostly recovered from that. Between a persisting soreness and adjusting to a new mattress, it remains aggravated. It probably didn’t help that my gym allows me to use chalk and that has me back to doing partial deadlifts over 500 pounds for reps.

Working out is a wonderful thing. Burns calories, keeps me strong and healthy (usually), and keeps me prepared for the physical surprises life throws at me. On the other hand, the stronger you get, the greater the chance that a screw turns catastrophic. Another fine example of being careful what you wish for.

Still, even with threats of broken bones, slipped discs, or cracked skulls on icy patches of driveway – I’ll take being here versus there any day. Beneath all this damn snow the grass really is greener.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

