Home > Uncategorized > Back to the Gym!

Back to the Gym!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a workout related blog so here’s what I’m doing these days. It started out with me spending a month or so bulking up to 241 lbs. That’s a funny weight to me. I was talking to a guy at my day job and he mentioned his brother being 6’2″ tall and 235 pounds. I thought, “Wow, big guy.” Then I realized something. “Wait a minute,” says I to myself.

“Yeah, self, we’re 6’1″ and 241lbs. We’re not that big!” Self said back to me.

A day or so later I was talking to a guy on the shop floor and he looked like a gymrat himself. I asked him what gym he went to and he laughed, saying it was just from lifting seats and doing yard work. He followed it up with telling me all the guys he talks to out there agree that I’m the biggest cat in the shop and I’m in the front office! Shocked the hell out of me. I suffer from little-man syndrome. Not sure I’ll ever think of myself as big enough.

So, to confuse this further after peaking at 241 I noticed the shadows of my abs had disappeared. Creeping up around 13% – 14% bodyfat, bad news. My wife hit a plateau herself and is anxious to get rid of a few extra carb induced pounds (yeah, I know, you can’t tell because she’s smoking hot regardless but chicks do this to themelves). I offered to go on a major cut with her to help out. And so this weekend it began. Caloric restriction and cutting back to about 20% or less of the calories coming in from carbs. Then there was the workout changes… and that’s where things get the most entertaining.

Monday night:
Leg press (8 reps @ 400lbs x 5 sets, about 30 – 45 seconds between each set)
Pull ups / chin ups (bodyweight only, 8 reps x 4 sets varying my grip with each set, about 45 – 60 seconds between sets)
Bench press (4 sets, 225 x 8, 225 x 6, 225 x 6, 225 x 4) supersetted with…
Bentover one arm dumbbell rows (4 sets, 75lbs x 8 reps each (for each arm))

The superset was what really kicked my ass. I had sweat running off my face and I was gasping for air like a fish out of water. Afterwards I came close to puking a few times and had to rest in a cool room at home for 30+ minutes before I could even stand up and feel human again.

Wednesday night:
Trap Bar Deadlifts (280 x 8, 370 x 8, 370 x 8, 370 x 8, 45 – 60 seconds between sets)
Declined Sit Ups (8 reps x 4 sets, 20 – 30 seconds rest between sets)
Inclined Dumbbell bench press (65 x 8, 65 x 8 – stopped because of some intense cramping in my previously torn left pec) supersetted with..
Bentover DB rows (both arms at once, 65 x 8, 65 x 8 )

Went home and felt nauseous and miserable for another 30 – 60 minutes. No threat of puking but I had to wait almost two hours until I could eat dinner.

The problem with being a powerlifter – each set is supposed to be done with optimal energy and strength. The cutting crap is kicking my ass. Proof I need to work more on my energy systems. Who knows, maybe I’ll build some muscle with this too since I never work out like this. My body doesn’t know what to do with it, it just knows it does NOT like it!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

