Home > Writing > The Art and Science of Marketing

The Art and Science of Marketing

Sunday, on Twitter, is known as #SampleSunday. What’s with the #? That means the word is a hash tag – people can view all the comments with that particular word in it by doing a simple search. It’s a neat concept, if a bit tricky to grasp at first (or maybe that’s just me). So #SampleSunday means writers (like me) post links to samples of their works. The more samples a writer has, the busier they are putting them out there for people to check out.

I wonder if the people who conceived Twitter had any idea how much work it would be for users down the road? After all, the terms of service prevent me from loading up a slew of identical tweets and launching them every five minutes or so (that would be considered spamming), so each one has to be a little different from its predecessors. It can be exhausting trying to come up with witty 140 character one liners to draw people in.

I’ve been on Twitter a few weeks now. Simultaneously I’ve been going after more networking sites as well, including joining some additional groups on Goodreads and even Facebook. Is all this additional social media helping me out? Well, I’m in the early stages of using it, but I think it’s safe to say my exposure level is slowly increasing. My sales seems about same, but that could be because I loaded up a lot of great deals on Smashwords for my books for this month, including a few free ones. The downloads of the freebies is through the roof, proportionally speaking. Heck, I even got another review on Goodreads for Voidhawk, the book that started it all for me.

So, for any would-be authors reading this, I can’t promise this route is the fastest one to success, but it seems that diligence, persistence, and hard work will one day get you there. For those people who stumble into a lucky opportunity that lands success in your lap – I hate you. Nothing personal, just a matter of principal. But then again, if that had happened to me I probably wouldn’t appreciate it.

And if any of this spawned some interest in finding these great deals I’ve mentioned, here’s some links to find them:
Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/JWHalstead
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Jason-Halstead/e/B0049AXHP2/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1309130738&sr=8-1
Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Jason-Halstead

If you’re curious about the samples I’m Tweeting about:
Wanted
Human Nature
Sex Sells
Voidhawk
Voidhawk – The Elder Race
Voidhawk – Redemption
Dark Earth
Voices

Categories: Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

