Home > Uncategorized > Social Media At Work?

Social Media At Work?

I’ll admit I don’t know the history of Twitter. I didn’t know a thing about it until a couple of weeks ago when I boldly entered the Twitterverse. It took me forever to get on MySpace and even after I did I never cared much for it, for a variety of reasons. Next came Facebook, which lost its mystique when it opened up to the masses. Still, people flocked and since it allowed me to leave MySpace behind, I was happy. I’ll admit I enjoy how Facebook allowed me to hook up with people I’d lost touch with over the years.

Then social media took a turn. Lots of people have been blogging about it, and I guess I’m just another d-bag trying to capitalize on that, but I still wouldn’t do it if I didn’t think it was worth introspection. Social media is still used for the purposes listed above, but it’s also used in a capitalistic sense. Heck, I use it that way more and more myself! Tweeting about my blog, my writing, my samples, my giveaways, my everything. Sure, some people want to know and it’s useful, but others could care less. My goal, of course, is to get more people caring more and more about it. In order to do that though I have to reach the right people and try to convince and coerce others to give it a shot and (hopefully) get hooked.

More and more that’s what I see on the Social Media sites and services I use. Granted, for what I’m attempting to achieve the majority of the people I network with are in similar positions. Before I started into the realm of marketing I was annoyed by people contacting me in such a manner. These days I think almost nothing of it. It’s funny how the line in the sand can shift between selling out and growing up.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

