Home > Writing > Time for a Literary Upskirt Opportunity!

Time for a Literary Upskirt Opportunity!

Sure, I could have called this a sneak peak but it wouldn’t have been nearly as much fun for me. The subject of the post is an update on my latest project(s). Before you decide you don’t want a spoiler (or you need to go wash your hair), think of this as also an inside look at how one writer makes writing work for him. So, with that said, here’s what’s on my plate right now.

I’ve finished chapter 8 on Voidhawk, book 4. I still have plenty more to go, at least another 20 or so by my reckoning. My intent is to write shorter chapters that focus on moving the characters and telling the story. Thus far I’ve got Logan (the priest cursed to be a werewolf), Bailynn (the human girl who was captured by elves and magically coerced into becoming an assassin), and Bekka (half elven sorceress with a lot of self-confidence issues). They’re searching for something to help Bekka figure her magic out better, among other things. In the process they’ve stumbled across an unholy force led by a mistress that calls herself the White Lady. Bailynn’s determined to hunt her down and stop her from stealing young girls for whatever evil plans she has.

Did I mention the world has multiple moons and Logan’s having a really hard time fighting his curse?

My timeline for this is to hopefully finish it up in January, then have editing and cover art finished for a March-ish release.

So what’s next? Well fans of my currently free book, Dark Earth, should be happy to know I have a direct sequel planned for it! Thanks in no small part to a reader by the name of Herman. He sent me some email talking about it and helped me to refocus some of the spare thoughts in the back of my head. This is living proof that I do read and respond to my readers. I appreciate each and every contact and more so, this proves that you can play a part in controlling a small facet of your own destiny – or at least what kind of material you get to read. I can’t speak for any other authors but as for myself my day is a little bit better for each and every email, tweet, comment, review, or any other form of feedback I receive.

So what do I have planned? Well let me explain why there’s been no direct sequel to Dark Earth yet. I knew the story had potential, but I wasn’t sure what to write or how to write it. I had story ideas but that was it, and for me writing a story isn’t about writing the story, it’s about the characters. Once I remembered that it became easy! What I needed was a character. Another day or so of letting it bounce around the back of my head and somebody emerged from the shadows. A character that’s a product of the Dark Earth traditions and customs, but one that must travel to our Earth in order to accomplish a task. While there this character is going to suffer some serious culture shock and have to rethink where their loyalties lie, and decide what happens when (or if) they must return to Dark Earth.

And, because I love weaving things together, it will also tie into one of my other Dark Earth books. Bonus points to anyone who figures out the connection and which book it’s in (the “contest” won’t begin until I write and release the book).

My timing no this new Dark Earth book will be after I finish up my current project. Rough draft in Feb – March and a hopeful release date of April to May.

Until then, look at these pretty covers on the right if you want to become familiar with either Voidhawk or Dark Earth (or anything else). Click on one of those to be taken to the Amazon page or visit my website below to view more information about each series, or any of my other books.

To learn more about Jason Halstead, visit his website to learn about him, his books, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

Categories: Writing
  1. December 17, 2011 at 13:16

    Hey, are you doing the KDP thing on Kindle? If so, how is it going?

  2. December 17, 2011 at 13:21

    KDP Select? I’m trying it with my Vitalis series. So far in a little over a week I’ve had a whopping 4 borrows. I’m not impressed, but I’m also not pushing the book. I’ve got a free promo set up for x-mas and the day after for book 1, we’ll see if that helps boost it any.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

