Home > Writing > Me and the Honey Badger

Me and the Honey Badger

My wife and I just took our children to see Chipwrecked. I was worried at first but it turned out to be a great film. More importantly, it had a scene that almost made me cry I was laughing so hard… the honey badger has a cameo appearance. If you don’t know who the honey badger is, here’s a link to the video on youtube. Seem stupid? It kind of is, but watch it again and turn off your ability for anything above mindless entertainment.

There was a preview for another movie, The Mysterious Island, or something like that. Seeing that gave me another idea. As I thought about it the idea expanded and consumed me. And now, with that running through my head I’ve got some neat new story ideas.

And these ideas are why my Dark Earth setting rocks. Book 1 introduces it. The planned direct sequel to it will expand on it some. I’ve got another series shaping up in the Dark Earth setting starting with The Lost Girls, and now I’ve got another sub-series planned for it! To give you a clue here’s where I’m going with it…

Atlantis, The Fountain of Youth, the Lost City of Gold, and countless other legends of our history exist not simply because of creative imaginations of sailors that drank too much rum. They exist because of random portals between our world and the Dark Earth that opened throughout history allowing people to cross over back. Enter into this a treasure hunter with a somewhat shady reputation (the character probably won’t use a bullwhip and wear a fedora though).

Hmm, I wonder if throwing in something from ancient Greek mythology would be fun too? My options truly are almost limitless with this setting – I can’t wait to get started on them!

To learn more about Jason Halstead, visit his website to learn about him, his books, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

  1. December 18, 2011 at 18:23

    Greek mythology is ALWAYS awesome. πŸ™‚

  2. December 18, 2011 at 22:17

    Gotta love Honey Badger.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

