Home > Writing > Looking For Feedback on a Fantasy

Looking For Feedback on a Fantasy

So there’s this grotto fed by hot springs, a full moon, and a gentle breeze blowing… Wait a minute, it’s not THAT kind of fantasy! What I’m talking about is a new fantasy book (or hopefully a new series). You see, I finished Vitalis – Resurrection and sent it to my editor yesterday. Black Widow should be out very soon, and that means my fingers are idle and in need of something new to write! Sure, I’ve got lots of options, but I want to break away and start up something new. So I’m thinking fantasy, but my idea of fantasy fiction and what others might like may not be on the same page. I’m very much in the conceptual stages right now, but I’d love to get some feedback on what people think they might like to see. For example…

Should there be a single main character or a small group of them? And if it’s just a single main character, should that character be male or female? (I confess I have a real fondness for writing female leads that kick ass – a combination of juvenile fascination and a desire to show how strong I consider the “gentler” gender to be capable of)

High, medium, or low fantasy? (high = loads of magic rivaling technology, all sorts of races and critters / low = historical earth / medium = somewhere between the two)

I’m willing to entertain any other thoughts or suggestions as well. I have plenty of my own ideas rattling around in my head, I’m just trying to make sure others will be similarly fascinated with what comes of it.

To learn more about Jason Halstead, visit his website to learn about him, his books, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

  1. August 18, 2012 at 00:31

    Dragons. Give me dragons. I care little for elves or dwarves or goblins, but please give me dragons, smart and treacherous and cunning. The world needs more dragons.

    Personally, I like a larger cast when it comes to fantasy, especially if it will become a series. Sex of the protagonist doesn’t matter. Just make him or her work hard to save the day. And maybe a wise old mentor that’s has more in mind than the protagonist’s best interests.

    • August 18, 2012 at 07:24

      I’ve felt dragons were kind of over-used in fantasy. But having said that, I’ve been looking for a way to work a dragon or three in to a book for some time now. I’ve got loads of options in my Voidhawk series but it never feels right so I’ve left ’em out. This time that may change!

      Thanks for the feedback, by they way!

  1. August 17, 2012 at 19:59

Leave a Reply

