Home > Writing > Sometimes the Puppy Gets It

Sometimes the Puppy Gets It

My wife is a Real Housewives fan. In particular the Real Housewives of New Jersey and the Beverly Hills. Oh, she likes the won with the blond lady that wears wigs all the time too (Atlanta? Orange County? I have no idea). I admit that openly and also confess that while I sit on the couch trying to write, I’m occasionally drawn into the train wreck.

The New Jersey season just ended (THANK GOODNESS!). During the reunion shows that they dragged out a question was posed about whether it’s bad to be opportunistic. I suppose there’s a line there, but short of being obnoxious or harmful I don’t think being opportunistic is bad at all. The particular instance they referred to had something to do with a blond lady who seems deserving of things I best not mention on this venue plotting to harass a regular cast member (Melissa, maybe?). All with another cast members implicit assistance (Theresa?). If Theresa is the one I’m thinking of (everybody hates her right now), I have to say she’s also deserving of actions I dare not mention…

But I’m digressing. Ultimately my life would be a better place without any of those shows because then I wouldn’t be sidetracked by their self-destructive behavior and staged drama. This post is actually about my successful return to Twitter! The reason I was kicked off had to do with aggressive following practices. I thought I was being opportunistic – e.g. following people who had similar interests and unfollowing people who showed no interest (after several days) of following me back. Isn’t that how friends and social networks are formed?

Well it turns out Twitter doesn’t care much for that sort of behavior, especially if it’s automated or if you hover over your Twitter account and show obsessive / compulsive tendencies. So to get back I had to request reinstatement and wait twelve days, then when they reacted to me I had to promise to behave myself and never try to make a new friend. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating slightly, but you get the idea.

Or maybe the folks at Twitter thought tweets sent to new people were too aggressive: “Follow back or the puppy gets it!”.

Of course I’m kidding, no such tweets were ever sent nor were any puppies harmed in the process. You have to admit, it’d be kind of funny to get that tweet…even if it did freak you out a little.

To learn more about Jason Halstead, visit his website to learn about him, his books, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

  1. October 18, 2012 at 23:39

    Wow! I didn’t think Twitter knocked anyone off… Just goes to show how little I know. I totally don’t get what Twitter considers aggressive following practices…because there are plenty of seriously obnoxious people out there and you haven’t been one of them. At least not with me.

    I feel your pain with your wife’s Real Housewives addiction. I came home from work a while back after a very long, painful day only to find my husband watching a Jersey Shore marathon. In the bedroom. So instead of sleeping I wanted to shoot someone in the head…Mafia style. Ok. More than one someone… 😉 (Fortunately for me this didn’t become a permanent thing in my household)

    • October 19, 2012 at 07:37

      Wow! About the only thing worse the RHONJ that I can imagine would be Jersey Shore! I’m so glad I almost never watch television…although I’ll admit I’m looking forward to this years American Horror Story. I just hope they got the plot holes worked out this year.

      • October 19, 2012 at 08:38

        I’ve heard nothing but good about that show but haven’t tuned in. I actually enjoy tv as a diversion, but can’t stand most reality tv. My passion for music, however, leaves The Voice as my big exception to my reality tv rule.

      • October 19, 2012 at 08:43

        My wife loves that show! I wear headphones while it’s on so I can focus on writing. It doesn’t always work. There are some good singers on there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

