Home > Writing > Everybody’s Got a Favorite

Everybody’s Got a Favorite

I’ve lost track of the times somebody’s asked me to pick my favorite book. My books, for the record, not books in general. They want to know what to read first, next, or down the road. That’s when I struggle – do I give them my favorite or what I think they will like? I write so many different kinds of books it can get difficult, fast!

I had another conversation like this the other day and it got me thinking about how my personal favorites get a lot less attention than my other books do. That doesn’t mean I don’t really like the other ones, it’s just that I have a couple that seem extra fun to me. Like Human Nature, a stand-alone book that explores the survival of the human race after a near extinction level event.

Or my Dark Earth series. That one gets some interest, but not much. It starts out exploring a young girl with an amazing talent – so amazing people want to kill her rather than let her explore its potential. The two sequels, if possible, I enjoy even more (Devil’s Icebox and Soul Mates).

More recently I wrote a detective novel call When the Cookie Crumbles. I can count on one hand the number of sales I’ve had. It’s a great book with some awesome characters – but it gets no love, press, or notice.

Don’t get me wrong, I love all my books and recommend all of them, it’s just funny how the ones that leave some of the strongest impressions for me don’t do as well in the marketplace. I just wrote another one that should be released very soon, it’s called Transcendent and ties together a lot of popular concepts, from a dystopian society to tragic young love and some very exciting action scenes. I’m expecting a series out of this one, and I have to say that it was another one that left a very strong impact on me.

And then there’s my current project, which is a paranormal romance. Definitely not something in my regular bag of tricks but you know what, I’m finding that I’m surprising myself with how much fun it is to write it. My intention is to turn this into a serial novel with 4 – 6 parts. I’m nearly finished with part 1, but I hope to have two completed before I release the first, then I’ll keep chugging away to keep the readers happy. Oh, and I’ll be releasing this one under a pen name.

Why a pen name? Well, my research (and word of mouth from other supports this), books in that style and genre are primarily read by women. Given that the last stats I had showed that 60% of ereaders were owned by women. There are exceptions, but women reading romance (paranormal or otherwise) seem to prefer it when the books are written by women as well. Even though I know of several successful writers in these genres that are men writing under a pen name. So I guess I’ll be borrowing one of my wife’s skirts on release day…

All gender bending aside, if you’re looking for something to read let me suggest again that you check out the books I mentioned above. They’re great lesser known and read books. They have a lot of soul and depth to them. And, darn it, I don’t want to think that what I like is so out of the ordinary nobody else can like it either!

 

To learn more about Jason Halstead visit his website to read about him, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

