Home > Writing > When a God Falls

When a God Falls

I was looking at my whiteboard the other day where I planned out the books I wanted to write this year. I was happily surprised to realize I’ve completed a large chunk already and even, in one case, going over my expectations. Where that’s relevant to this blog is that I had planned on writing at least one Voidhawk book. Well… I did.

Voidhawk – Fallen Goddess, is available now. It’s not only available, but it’s a book that really dug deep into me and touched me deeper than a book has in quite a while. It’s ridiculous to think that the writer could be surprised or shocked by his characters, but yet that happens to a lot of us. Or, at least, it happened to me with this one.

I’ll give a mini spoiler and announce right off the bat, Volera is back. But she’s not what you remember. Not only is she different, but she has no idea what she’s doing or why she’s doing it. Gone is the evil intent to harvest souls and power (well, mostly), and in its place is her driving need to understand just what it is that she needs. Confusing? Good, imagine how she feels!

The problem is this isn’t just another avatar of Volera created for a purpose, this is much bigger than that. I hinted in the end of the last book at her true power and origin, but this book covers it in more detail. And, most amazing, is her willingness to risk it all in her search for understanding.

What she failed to consider was the potential impact her actions could cause. Consequences that the crew of the Voidhawk discover at the worst time. They’re busy trying to deal with being betrayed on a job and handling internal problems. Jenna’s getting worse, not better, and Rosh spends time in a suicidal rage that only grows because he can’t find anything powerful enough to kill him and end his pain.

This book is amazing, and I’m not afraid to say it. The characters came to life stronger than ever. I can’t go on to explain more reasons why I think this is the best Voidhawk book yet without giving away important spoilers, but know that I really do feel that way. It also begs a follow up novel, which will be on my must-write list in the very near future.

But first, here’s the cover and where you can get it. I encourage you to hurry, and I also welcome the possible flood of emails that will follow as the books is read.

Fallen Goddess, book 8 in the Voidhawk series, by Jason Halstead

Amazon

Amazon UK

Barnes and Noble

iTunes

Kobo

Scribd (coming soon)

Page Foundry / Inktera

Oyster

To learn more about Jason Halstead visit his website to read about him, sign up for his newsletter, or check out some free samples of his books at http://www.booksbyjason.com.

Categories: Writing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

